FSR connection to DUET 2 WiFi no workie - config?

The new for 2016 Rostock MAX v3!
Post Reply
nurbie
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:53 am
Location: spaceship earth

FSR connection to DUET 2 WiFi no workie - config?

Post by nurbie » Mon May 20, 2019 8:44 pm

My FSR trinket isn't talking to the DUET2 WiFi.
JohnSL board and FSRs all signal properly;using my finger lightly on the build plate the trinket red LEDs light up correctly/individually/averaged depending on pressure location.
Should I see anything blinking on the DUET board, or see the Z-probe GUI change?
Z-probe GUI always reads 0

Wiring to the Z-probe connector is correct according to DUET Z-probe wiring diagram.
Using the OEM GreenBlackRed assignments for the JohnSL
FSRtoDUET_wiring.png
I'm plugged into the DUET Z-probe connector (blue wire not connected)
DUET_zProbe.jpg

I've tried running g30 and tapping the deck, and switching the wiring between GND and IN. Red wire has remained 3.3v(?)
The JohnSL trinket lights up as it should, hotspots/averaged, but that signal doesn't halt the g30 as it should so I shut the thing down and try again.
Ran g32
effector tracked down to bed,
moved to Z periphery,
slowly lowered to trigger FSR - FSR showed contact(lit up)
crashed build plate until I emergency aborted(but not before the effector was tweaking arms and effector plate joints ...)
FSRs just aren't talking to DUET.
nothing registers here:
Duet_GUI_Z-probe0.png
Duet_GUI_Z-probe0.png (36.95 KiB) Viewed 362 times
Not sure what else to do
latest config: (FSR@bottom)

M550 PODWOOD_CLAY_01 ; Printer name
M555 P2 ; Gcode Output Type
M552 S1 ; Enable Wifi
G21 ; Work in millimeters
G90 ; Send absolute coordinates

M569 P0 S0 ; Drive 0 goes forwards (X)
M569 P1 S0 ; Drive 1 goes forwards (Y)
M569 P2 S0 ; Drive 2 goes forwards (Z)
M569 P3 S0 ; Drive 3 goes forwards (E0)
M569 P4 S0 ; Drive 4 goes forwards (E1)

M574 X2 Y2 Z2 S1 ; set endstop configuration (all endstops at high end, active high)

M665 R144 L291.06 B135 H375 X0 Y0 Z0 ; delta radius, diagonal rod length, printable radius and homed height
; Y X Z are tower angle offsets
M666 X0 Y0 Z0 ; endstop offsets in mm

M350 X16 Y16 Z16 E16:16 I1 ; Set 16x microstepping w/ Interpolation
M92 X80 Y80 Z80 ; Set axis steps/mm
M92 E400.0:400.0 ; Set extruder steps/mm

M906 X1200 Y1200 Z1200 E1200:1200 I50 ; Set motor currents (mA) and idle current %
M201 X4200 Y4200 Z4200 E5000 ; Accelerations (mm/s^2)
M203 X15000 Y15000 Z15000 E15000 ; Maximum speeds (mm/min)
M566 X2000 Y2000 Z2000 E2000 ; Maximum instant speed changes mm/minute

M106 P0 H-1 ; PART-DRYING FAN
M106 P1 S1 H-1 ; DUET CPU fan
M106 P2 T25 S100 ; LDM fan

M563 P0 D0 S"LDM_01" ; create a named tool using extruder drive 0

M558 P5 X0 Y0 Z0 H15 F200 I1 ; FSR Settings
G31 P500 X0 Y0 Z-0.3 ; Probe trigger value and offsets
M270 I1 P1 S0.05 ; Enabled Probe doubletap w/ 0.05mm tolerance
M557 R140 S30 ; default bed mapping
M501 ; Load saved config values
T0 ; Select Tool 0

M302 ; Report current state
M302 P0 ; Allow cold extrusion
M375 ; Load height map

\\\\\\\
Last edited by nurbie on Tue May 21, 2019 7:13 pm, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4882
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: DUET 2 WiFi FSR no workie - config?

Post by geneb » Tue May 21, 2019 8:38 am

But what? You don't state the problem. :)

Does the light on the FSR board blink on when you tap on the bed?

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

nurbie
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:53 am
Location: spaceship earth

Re: DUET 2 WiFi FSR no workie - config?

Post by nurbie » Tue May 21, 2019 6:50 pm

YES G!
I edited the original post, let me know if you can make sense of it.

I'm thinking there's some config like M581: Configure external trigger or M585: Probe Tool (?) that I need to mess with to have the Z-probe get initialized?

FWIW,
I'm also pinging the Duet3D guys to see what comes up

nurbie
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:53 am
Location: spaceship earth

Re: FSR connection to DUET 2 WiFi no workie - config?

Post by nurbie » Wed May 22, 2019 1:40 am

Annnnnnnd,
SOLVED
IMG_20190521_230244~2.jpg
Blue wire is not connected to anything


Wow, the FSRs are amazingly sensitive in auto calibration.
and,
I still can't figure out why the stepper movements are so quiet with the Duet; it's weird(in a good way)

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4882
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: FSR connection to DUET 2 WiFi no workie - config?

Post by geneb » Wed May 22, 2019 8:15 am

Glad you got it sorted! The motors are quieter due to the stepper driver chips that the Duet uses. They're a LOT better than the ones on the RAMBo and other boards.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Post Reply

Return to “Rostock MAX v3”