Page 1 of 1

5" touch screen for upgraded V3 machine

Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:14 pm
by ROvermeyer
Will there be offered a 5 inch Touch Screen Controller Kit offered for the Max V3 machines that have been upgraded to V3.2?

Thanks.

Bob O.

Re: 5" touch screen for upgraded V3 machine

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:29 am
by geneb
The screen kit for the 3.2 will work, you'll just need to drill some mounting holes for the LCD mount and a hole for the cabling to pass through.

g.

Re: 5" touch screen for upgraded V3 machine

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:15 pm
by ROvermeyer
Geneb,

Thanks for your reply.

If SeeMeCNC was not coming out with a kit, drilling holes was one of my options. The other option I was thinking of was to modify the Rev B Frame mounting post, remove the ears, add a threaded section to go through either the webcam or second extruder hole and make a matching nut to secure it to the top. This option would not require drilling holes but it would require longer cables.

Also I thought I read somewhere that SeeMeCNC was coming out with an upgraded set of carbon arms for the V3?

Bob O.

Re: 5" touch screen for upgraded V3 machine

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:52 pm
by PengLord
I have an enclosure so I made this. An added benefit is that no drilling will be required, you just need to make/come up with longer cables.
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2986057

Re: 5" touch screen for upgraded V3 machine

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:30 am
by ROvermeyer
PengLord,

Thanks, looks good. Where did you buy the $6 cable?

Re: 5" touch screen for upgraded V3 machine

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:28 pm
by AlanZ
I would like to reposition the 5" display on my Artemis, are there any extension cables readily available (6 or 12" would work for me... I'd need both cables)

Thanks

Re: 5" touch screen for upgraded V3 machine

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:17 pm
by PengLord
ROvermeyer wrote:PengLord,

Thanks, looks good. Where did you buy the $6 cable?

I bought a 1m ribbon cable on Amazon and it worked fine. I ended up buying some new connectors and cut it down to a more appropriate size.

I'd recommend just buying the connectors and a spool of cable if you have any possible future need