v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

The new for 2016 Rostock MAX v3!
Post Reply
hebbster
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:13 pm
Location: Greencastle, IN
Contact:

v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by hebbster » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:11 pm

Anyone upgrading from v3 to v3.2, did you change the stepper motors also? Reading through the instructions it describes both using the old and instructions if you replace them. Looks like the diff is 1.8 degrees vs .9 degrees, so worth changing that also if you're doing the rest?

Thanks Gene & Michael for answering all my questions at MRRF on the upgrade, helped me a lot...

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4866
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by geneb » Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:48 am

When I updated my v3 to 3.2, I didn't change the motors. It's not a requirement, just a "nice to have". Keep in mind that if you don't change the stepper motors, you'll need to tweak the config.g file for the Duet to reflect the 80steps/mm that the old motors use.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

hebbster
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:13 pm
Location: Greencastle, IN
Contact:

Re: v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by hebbster » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:07 pm

geneb wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:48 am
When I updated my v3 to 3.2, I didn't change the motors. It's not a requirement, just a "nice to have". Keep in mind that if you don't change the stepper motors, you'll need to tweak the config.g file for the Duet to reflect the 80steps/mm that the old motors use.

g.
Thanks for the reply!
Guessing they add the ability to have better resolution? Something else?

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4866
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by geneb » Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:31 am

Smoother motion and slightly improved print quality on very thin layers will smaller diameter nozzles. (at least that's what I've seen on my machine, others may have more to offer on this.)

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

nurbie
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:53 am
Location: spaceship earth

Re: v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by nurbie » Sun May 12, 2019 10:34 pm

This 80steps/mm .config change would apply to anyone moving from RAMBo to DUET, regardless of extruder, correct?

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4866
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by geneb » Mon May 13, 2019 8:32 am

If you're going to upgrade the motors to .9 steppers, then yes, you'll need to change the steps/mm.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

nurbie
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:53 am
Location: spaceship earth

Re: v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by nurbie » Mon May 13, 2019 10:21 am

But wait, let's get this straight as I'm shortly modding my V3s to DUET boards,

quote:
When I updated my v3 to 3.2, I didn't change the motors. It's not a requirement, just a "nice to have". Keep in mind that if you don't change the stepper motors, you'll need to tweak the config.g file for the Duet to reflect the 80steps/mm that the old motors use.

Wouldn't that imply that you kept the 1.8 motors, _and_ then needed to change the DUET .config to 80 ?
Because, possibly, the DUET .config is set up to run .09 steps?

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1360
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by Mac The Knife » Mon May 13, 2019 12:23 pm

nurbie wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 10:21 am
But wait, let's get this straight as I'm shortly modding my V3s to DUET boards,

quote:
When I updated my v3 to 3.2, I didn't change the motors. It's not a requirement, just a "nice to have". Keep in mind that if you don't change the stepper motors, you'll need to tweak the config.g file for the Duet to reflect the 80steps/mm that the old motors use.

Wouldn't that imply that you kept the 1.8 motors, _and_ then needed to change the DUET .config to 80 ?
Because, possibly, the DUET .config is set up to run .09 steps?
Yep, I believe that's what he is saying. If you bought your Duet board elsewhere, as you posted, and download the config file from SeeMeCNC, it most likely would be configured for .9 step motors, since that is what they are using. However, with the Duet, it is really easy to edit the config file,,,,, not at all like the RamBO boards.
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

nurbie
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:53 am
Location: spaceship earth

Re: v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by nurbie » Wed May 15, 2019 11:30 am

Thanks for the response.
Really looking forward to the Duets! Glad to hear the code/.config side is friendlier than the RAMBo(and has a large, contributing user base).

Looks like the right move all around, and as long as my original steppers hang in there, a reasonably economical solution to level up the V3s.

Then, a V4 kit for doing plastic parts and we're rockin'!

hebbster
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:13 pm
Location: Greencastle, IN
Contact:

Re: v3.2 Stepper Motor upgrade?

Post by hebbster » Sat May 25, 2019 10:01 am

Little more on this over in the v3.2 forum, I missed it earlier...
viewtopic.php?f=117&t=12533

Post Reply

Return to “Rostock MAX v3”