Duet 0.8 tplink 702n config problems

Northspire
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:24 pm
Location: Western North Carolina

Duet 0.8 tplink 702n config problems

Postby Northspire » Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:12 pm

Hi
I am trying to configure my duet board for wifi with a tplink 702n router. I can get the router to connect to the wifi but I cannot connect to the duet. Any ideas?
Machines:
Rostock V2 Meanwell SP 750-24 Power Supply,710n Nano W/l Router,E3D Chimera Hot-End,713 Maker Effector and Hot-End Mount,Duet 0.8.5,Bondtech QR Extruder,PanelDue W/ 7 Inch T/S,Mini IR Height Sensor,24V Heated Bed With SSR,46 Quart Dry Box.

IMBoring25
Printmaster!
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:11 am

Re: Duet 0.8 tplink 702n config problems

Postby IMBoring25 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:54 pm

The 0.8 does not have WiFi and has to be connected over Ethernet cable. Thus the new version...Duet WiFi.

User avatar
DeltaCon
Printmaster!
Posts: 585
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Wessem, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Duet 0.8 tplink 702n config problems

Postby DeltaCon » Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:57 am

I think Northspire is aiming at getting a router to interconnect between a wifi AP and the cabled Duet. Many more have done this but personally I have no experience with Duet 0.8. I do have experience with WiFi bridging. If it is a "normal" router, you will probably have problem. In most routers the wifi connection cannot be used as an uplink. Routers that do support that have usually a setting under the name "bridge". You best get a model that is specifically intended for this purpose, without DHCP server and DSL or external ethernet connection, because it does not have to translate from one network to another.
I am DeltaCon, I have a delta, my name is Con, I am definitely PRO delta! ;-)
Rostock V2 / E3D V6 / Raymond Style Heatchamber on the way!

PS.: Sorry for the avatar, that's my other hobby!

Northspire
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:24 pm
Location: Western North Carolina

Re: Duet 0.8 tplink 702n config problems

Postby Northspire » Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:30 pm

exactly. I have A Linksys wifi router connected to the internet and I want to use the tplink 702n nano router in client mode to connect the printer to the network.
Machines:
Rostock V2 Meanwell SP 750-24 Power Supply,710n Nano W/l Router,E3D Chimera Hot-End,713 Maker Effector and Hot-End Mount,Duet 0.8.5,Bondtech QR Extruder,PanelDue W/ 7 Inch T/S,Mini IR Height Sensor,24V Heated Bed With SSR,46 Quart Dry Box.

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: Duet 0.8 tplink 702n config problems

Postby dc42 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:25 am

I had a similar setup working some time ago using the wr720n nano router. I had to connect a laptop to it with an Ethernet cable to set it up. AFAIR I configured it in client mode with auto DHCP. I configured the Duet to use DHCP.

User avatar
marcom
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: Duet 0.8 tplink 702n config problems

Postby marcom » Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:18 am

I have a similar setup - Duet 0.85 with TPLink 802n.

- Log in to your TPLink admin console (at your TPLink's IP address)
- Change your Operation Mode to "Client"
- Make sure under "Wireless" > "Wireless settings" your router's name and MAC address are correct (for some reason this matters - I switched routers and lost connectivity once and this setting still had my old router's MAC address and changing it seemed to fix it). Also I have WDS disabled, but dunno if that matters or not.

My IP lines in config.g:
M552 P192.168.185.120 ; IP address (0 = use DHCP) - I use an assigned address so I can connect to it by IP if I have to.
M554 P192.168.185.1 ; This is my main router (not my TPLink - that one has a different address)
M553 P255.255.255.0

Hope this is helpful.
Rostock MAX v2, Prusa i3, Makerfarm Pegasus


Return to “Duet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests