Kapton Tape

A place for the physical connections
User avatar
Boundless
Printmaster!
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC

Kapton Tape

Postby Boundless » Sat May 17, 2014 12:22 pm

Hey guys,

Before I started my build I put a tool box together for all the needed tools, but I have not been able to find Kapton tape. I figured I just pick it up somewhere locally and now wished I ordered it online.

I can't find this tape anywhere and I am right in the middle of my build and need it.

Does anyone know where I might be able to find it?

I have tried, and failed to find it at...

Lowes
Home Depot
Ace Hardware
Radio Shack
Stevens Hardware
Do it best hardware

Any suggestions other than buying online and waiting?

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Polygonhell » Sat May 17, 2014 12:54 pm

It's pretty obscure I've never seen it locally. You might find it at an industrial supply store like Grainger if you have one locally.
Amazon caries it, I think I bought my last roll from china via eBay, but that's quite the wait.

Probably your best bet locally would be to find someone else with a 3D printer locally, they would probably have some they could give you. If you have a local maker space, or you could try meetup.

User avatar
JohnStack
Printmaster!
Posts: 852
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:07 pm
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Contact:

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby JohnStack » Sat May 17, 2014 1:29 pm

Anyone near you? Where are you at, your profile doesn't say.

I'm in San Diego - I tried Frys and a few electronics places. Nope. I have loads...now.
Technologist, Maker, Willing to question conventional logic
http://dropc.am/p/KhiI1a

User avatar
gajtguy
Printmaster!
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 9:00 pm

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby gajtguy » Sat May 17, 2014 1:50 pm

I didn't use one bit of that tape. But wished the kit could have included 12" of it.. Where is that suggestion box?

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Eaglezsoar » Sat May 17, 2014 2:07 pm

gajtguy wrote:I didn't use one bit of that tape. But wished the kit could have included 12" of it.. Where is that suggestion box?


Right next to the complaint box. You are right however.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

User avatar
Flateric
Printmaster!
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Flateric » Sat May 17, 2014 2:56 pm

This tape is available at most electronics component supply stores. The places that will sell you capacitors and actual components for making your own electronic projects.

Hope that helps.
"Now you see why evil will always triumph! Because good is dumb." - Spaceballs

Eric
Printmaster!
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:09 am
Location: Chula Vista, CA

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Eric » Sat May 17, 2014 3:38 pm

It's a tough item to find locally, unless they're lucky enough to live near an electronics supplier that operates a storefront as well.

Amazon for speed. You can have it Monday if you order an Amazon-stocked item today and pay for fast shipping.

Ebay for price, especially if it's coming from China, but be willing to wait.

User avatar
Boundless
Printmaster!
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Boundless » Sat May 17, 2014 4:31 pm

Thanks for all the help fellas, I'll try some local electronics suppliers.

dtgriscom
Printmaster!
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:15 pm
Location: Wakefield, MA
Contact:

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby dtgriscom » Sat May 17, 2014 9:15 pm

I picked up mine from Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006ZFQNT6 . Worked well. Currently in stock; you have 45 hours to order it and still receive it on Tuesday (assuming you aren't located in the serious boonies).


Dan

User avatar
Boundless
Printmaster!
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Boundless » Sat May 17, 2014 9:37 pm

Thanks for the link Dan,

I'll order some now. Just frustrating wanting to finish the build and can't because of this elusive tape.

Thanks again guys.

User avatar
Demolishun
Printmaster!
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 4:28 am
Location: SE Idaho, USA

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Demolishun » Mon May 19, 2014 1:29 pm

My brother once fixed a battery using bird feces and spit. Your mileage may vary...
Challenge yourself and be a more awesome you.

Eric
Printmaster!
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:09 am
Location: Chula Vista, CA

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Eric » Mon May 19, 2014 1:34 pm

Demolishun wrote:My brother once fixed a battery using bird feces and spit. Your mileage may vary...


That would come under "Things they never showed on MacGyver."

User avatar
Tinyhead
Printmaster!
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:44 pm
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Tinyhead » Mon May 19, 2014 5:10 pm

Eric wrote:
Demolishun wrote:My brother once fixed a battery using bird feces and spit. Your mileage may vary...


That would come under "Things they never showed on MacGyver."



Hahaha!

If you're in a jam for kapton, you could also try a electric motor repair shop if you have one in your city. They use it all the time for winding. I also agree that SeeMe could send a small strip of it with the build. I've personally only used a tiny bit of the stuff, so that would have been nice.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4753
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby geneb » Mon May 19, 2014 5:46 pm

You can't send a strip of adhesive tape that doesn't include a backing. As far as I know, Kapton isn't available like that at all.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
lordbinky
Printmaster!
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:53 am
Location: Tri Cities Washington

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby lordbinky » Mon May 19, 2014 5:46 pm

It's sometimes used by people that do powder coating, if you can think of any applicable local suppliers or body/paint shops that might be willing to part with/sell some.

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby Polygonhell » Mon May 19, 2014 8:27 pm

What E3D does is send a small piece of tape stuck to something it doesn't permanently adhere to.
It would be nice if the kit were really "complete".

notarat
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 2:13 pm

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby notarat » Tue May 20, 2014 10:10 am

Boundless wrote:Hey guys,

Before I started my build I put a tool box together for all the needed tools, but I have not been able to find Kapton tape. I figured I just pick it up somewhere locally and now wished I ordered it online.

I can't find this tape anywhere and I am right in the middle of my build and need it.

Does anyone know where I might be able to find it?

I have tried, and failed to find it at...

Lowes
Home Depot
Ace Hardware
Radio Shack
Stevens Hardware
Do it best hardware

Any suggestions other than buying online and waiting?



I ordered mine (6" wide by 100Ft) from Octave.

User avatar
lordbinky
Printmaster!
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:53 am
Location: Tri Cities Washington

Re: Kapton Tape

Postby lordbinky » Tue May 20, 2014 5:16 pm

The E3D method sure seemed like the just slapped some kapton tape on baking/wax paper and shipped it off. It worked, but I was entertained by the simplicity and effectiveness.


Return to “Nuts and Bolts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest